NYCPHP Meetup

NYPHP.org

[nycphp-talk] (no subject)

tuon1 at netzero.net tuon1 at netzero.net
Tue Nov 8 00:50:03 EST 2011


>>>On Nov 6, 2011, at 6:19 PM, tuon1 at netzero.net wrote:
>>> <?php
>>> 
>>> echo "<input><?=$variable1?></input>";
>> 
>>This is actually incorrect.  The value needs to go in the the value attribute of the 
>>input element.  Try this:

>>echo '<input value="' . htmlspecialchars($variable1, ENT_QUOTES, 'UTF-8') . 
>>'" />";
>> echo "<textarea><?=$variable2?></textarea>";
>> 

>>Try this:

>>echo '<textarea>' . htmlspecialchars($variable2, ENT_QUOTES, 'UTF-8') . 
>>'</textarea>';


Thanks to all of you who responded, I tried and it works.
Thanks again!
Paul

---------- Original Message ----------
From: talk-request at lists.nyphp.org
To: talk at lists.nyphp.org
Subject: talk Digest, Vol 61, Issue 2
Date: Mon, 07 Nov 2011 07:10:43 -0500

Send talk mailing list submissions to
talk at lists.nyphp.org

To subscribe or unsubscribe via the World Wide Web, visit
http://lists.nyphp.org/mailman/listinfo/talk
or, via email, send a message with subject or body 'help' to
talk-request at lists.nyphp.org

You can reach the person managing the list at
talk-owner at lists.nyphp.org

When replying, please edit your Subject line so it is more specific
than "Re: Contents of talk digest..."


Today's Topics:

  1. Prefill  <textarea><?=$variable?></textarea> (tuon1 at netzero.net)
  2. Re: Prefill  <textarea><?=$variable?></textarea> (Rob Marscher)
  3. <textarea><?=$variable2?></textarea> (tuon1 at netzero.net)
  4. Re: <textarea><?=$variable2?></textarea> (Rob Marscher)
  5. Re: <textarea><?=$variable2?></textarea> (justin)
  6. Re: <textarea><?=$variable2?></textarea> (David Krings)
  7. Re: <textarea><?=$variable2?></textarea> (Donald Organ)


----------------------------------------------------------------------

Message: 1
Date: Sun, 6 Nov 2011 23:19:08 GMT
From: "tuon1 at netzero.net" <tuon1 at netzero.net>
To: talk at lists.nyphp.org
Subject: [nycphp-talk] Prefill  <textarea><?=$variable?></textarea>
Message-ID: <20111106.171908.14932.0 at webmail53.dca.untd.com>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="windows-1252"

Hi, Guys!
This maybe a simple solution that I overlooked. I can't seem to get my variables to populate in text areas with <textarea> tags. Input boxes (<input>) work just fine, but for some reason <textarea> boxes won't populate any content at all.
Is there something else I have to do to get <textarea> to accept content or populate content?
As far as I know, it shouldn't be any different than <input> boxes in term of populating content, for example, here is the code to populate the two types of boxes:
<?php
echo "<input><?=$variable1?></input>";
echo "<textarea><?=$variable2?></textarea>";
?>
As I said, the input boxes work just fine, but the text area boxes didn't work and came up blank text area with no content at all.
Thanks in advance.
Paul Tuon

____________________________________________________________
53 Year Old Mom Looks 33
The Stunning Results of Her Wrinkle Trick Has Botox Doctors Worried
http://thirdpartyoffers.netzero.net/TGL3231/4eb71603739ca1512326st05duc
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lists.nyphp.org/pipermail/talk/attachments/20111106/4cba5587/attachment-0001.html>

------------------------------

Message: 2
Date: Sun, 6 Nov 2011 20:55:31 -0500
From: Rob Marscher <rmarscher at beaffinitive.com>
To: NYPHP Talk <talk at lists.nyphp.org>
Subject: Re: [nycphp-talk] Prefill  <textarea><?=$variable?></textarea>
Message-ID: <A9E818C3-39D7-4B44-9105-B866F25555F3 at beaffinitive.com>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="windows-1252"


On Nov 6, 2011, at 6:19 PM, tuon1 at netzero.net wrote:
> <?php
> 
> echo "<input><?=$variable1?></input>";
> 
This is actually incorrect.  The value needs to go in the the value attribute of the input element.  Try this:

echo '<input value="' . htmlspecialchars($variable1, ENT_QUOTES, 'UTF-8') . '" />";
> echo "<textarea><?=$variable2?></textarea>";
> 

Try this:

echo '<textarea>' . htmlspecialchars($variable2, ENT_QUOTES, 'UTF-8') . '</textarea>';

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lists.nyphp.org/pipermail/talk/attachments/20111106/77a56496/attachment-0001.html>

------------------------------

Message: 3
Date: Mon, 7 Nov 2011 03:34:44 GMT
From: "tuon1 at netzero.net" <tuon1 at netzero.net>
To: talk at lists.nyphp.org
Subject: [nycphp-talk] <textarea><?=$variable2?></textarea>
Message-ID: <20111106.213444.1268.0 at webmail56.dca.untd.com>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="windows-1252"

Hi, Guys!I just realized that after sent my post, I made a mistake in my code. I just woke up and rushed to the computer and start typing half-asleep and ran off to work in a matter of 3 minutes. So the code to populate in the boxes should have been: <?php$variable1 = 'John Doe';$variable2 = 'The sun is shining ..................blah blah blah';
echo "<input size=25 name=example1 value=<?=$variable1?></input>";
echo "<textarea name=example2 value=<?=$variable2?>  rows=10 cols=50></textarea>";?> Some reason only example1 input box gets populated and exampl2 showed nothing.Any idea?ThanksPaul Tuon >Hi, Guys!  >This maybe a simple solution that I overlooked. I can't seem to get my variables to populate in >text areas with <textarea> tags. Input boxes (<input>) work just fine, but for some reason ><textarea> boxes won't populate any content at all.
>Is there something else I have to do to get <textarea> to accept content or populate content?
>As far as I know, it shouldn't be any different than <input> boxes in term of populating >content, for example, here is the code to populate the two types of boxes:
><?php
>echo "<input><?=$variable1?></input>";
>echo "<textarea><?=$variable2?></textarea>";
>?>
>As I said, the input boxes work just fine, but the text area boxes didn't work and came up >blank text area with no content at all.
>Thanks in advance.
>Paul Tuon
____________________________________________________________
Penny Stock Jumping 3000%
Sign up to the #1 voted penny stock newsletter for free today!
http://thirdpartyoffers.netzero.net/TGL3231/4eb7521213c6b1524671st04duc
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lists.nyphp.org/pipermail/talk/attachments/20111107/52d2cd78/attachment-0001.html>

------------------------------

Message: 4
Date: Sun, 6 Nov 2011 22:38:42 -0500
From: Rob Marscher <rmarscher at beaffinitive.com>
To: NYPHP Talk <talk at lists.nyphp.org>
Subject: Re: [nycphp-talk] <textarea><?=$variable2?></textarea>
Message-ID: <FDF72108-2D02-4250-9A94-35C8CD71FFEC at beaffinitive.com>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="windows-1252"


On Nov 6, 2011, at 10:34 PM, tuon1 at netzero.net wrote:
> echo "<textarea name=example2 value=<?=$variable2?>  rows=10 cols=50></textarea>";
>  
> Some reason only example1 input box gets populated and exampl2 showed nothing.
> Any idea?

Content goes inside the textarea block element:
echo "<textarea name=example2 rows=10 cols=50><?=$variable2?></textarea>";


-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lists.nyphp.org/pipermail/talk/attachments/20111106/5d8b024c/attachment-0001.html>

------------------------------

Message: 5
Date: Sun, 6 Nov 2011 21:55:36 -0800
From: justin <justin at justinhileman.info>
To: NYPHP Talk <talk at lists.nyphp.org>
Subject: Re: [nycphp-talk] <textarea><?=$variable2?></textarea>
Message-ID:
<CA+3=dgE_FR1XW5etM7km2y15uke2Mc9at=4+yfxK77GnQeM7uw at mail.gmail.com>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=UTF-8

On Sun, Nov 6, 2011 at 7:38 PM, Rob Marscher <rmarscher at beaffinitive.com> wrote:
>
> Content goes inside the textarea block element:
> echo "<textarea name=example2 rows=10 cols=50><?=$variable2?></textarea>";
>
>


And you'll want to escape the value of $variable2 ... It gets really
awkward if $variable2 includes </textarea> :)

echo "<textarea name=example2 rows=10
cols=50><?=htmlentities($variable2)?></textarea>";


------------------------------

Message: 6
Date: Mon, 07 Nov 2011 07:07:19 -0500
From: David Krings <ramons at gmx.net>
To: NYPHP Talk <talk at lists.nyphp.org>
Subject: Re: [nycphp-talk] <textarea><?=$variable2?></textarea>
Message-ID: <4EB7C9F7.3030905 at gmx.net>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=ISO-8859-1; format=flowed

On 11/6/2011 10:34 PM, tuon1 at netzero.net wrote:
> echo "<textarea name=example2 value=<?=$variable2?> rows=10 cols=50></textarea>";
> ?>

The textarea tag does not have a value argument. You just include the default 
text within the tags.


David


------------------------------

Message: 7
Date: Mon, 7 Nov 2011 07:10:42 -0500
From: Donald Organ <dorgan at donaldorgan.com>
To: NYPHP Talk <talk at lists.nyphp.org>
Subject: Re: [nycphp-talk] <textarea><?=$variable2?></textarea>
Message-ID:
<CAOziObvj+kw_6c8PiTj9vCxUzsxMurQNdha4PP8kKGhCDfmZZQ at mail.gmail.com>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="iso-8859-1"

Your missing quotes around your values and what are you using a closing
input tag?

On Sunday, November 6, 2011, tuon1 at netzero.net <tuon1 at netzero.net> wrote:
> Hi, Guys!
> I just realized that after sent my post, I made a mistake in my code. I
just woke up and rushed to the computer and start typing half-asleep and
ran off to work in a matter of 3 minutes. So the code to populate in
the boxes should have been:
>
> <?php
> $variable1 = 'John Doe';
> $variable2 = 'The sun is shining ..................blah blah blah';
> echo "<input size=25 name=example1 value=<?=$variable1?></input>";
> echo "<textarea name=example2 value=<?=$variable2?>  rows=10
cols=50></textarea>";
> ?>
>
> Some reason only example1 input box gets populated and exampl2 showed
nothing.
> Any idea?
> Thanks
> Paul Tuon
>
>>Hi, Guys!
>
>>This maybe a simple solution that I overlooked. I can't seem to get my
variables to populate in >text areas with <textarea> tags. Input boxes
(<input>) work just fine, but for some reason ><textarea> boxes won't
populate any content at all.
>>Is there something else I have to do to get <textarea> to accept content
or populate content?
>>As far as I know, it shouldn't be any different than <input> boxes in
term of populating >content, for example, here is the code to populate the
two types of boxes:
>><?php
>>echo "<input><?=$variable1?></input>";
>>echo "<textarea><?=$variable2?></textarea>";
>>?>
>>As I said, the input boxes work just fine, but the text area boxes didn't
work and came up >blank text area with no content at all.
>>Thanks in advance.
>>Paul Tuon
>
>
> ____________________________________________________________
> Penny Stock Jumping 3000%
> Sign up to the #1 voted penny stock newsletter for free today!
> AwesomePennyStocks.com
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lists.nyphp.org/pipermail/talk/attachments/20111107/ff081fac/attachment.html>

------------------------------

_______________________________________________
talk mailing list
talk at lists.nyphp.org
http://lists.nyphp.org/mailman/listinfo/talk

End of talk Digest, Vol 61, Issue 2
***********************************

____________________________________________________________
Groupon&#8482 Official Site
1 ridiculously huge coupon a day. Get 50-90% off your city&#39;s best!
http://thirdpartyoffers.netzero.net/TGL3231/4eb8c35f235611592880st04duc
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lists.nyphp.org/pipermail/talk/attachments/20111108/1dac4376/attachment.html>


More information about the talk mailing list